The day I found out I was pregnant and how I told Scott

I have to preface this story by saying this is NOT how I intended  or envisioned telling Scott that I was pregnant… It’s funny how things just work out some times.

In my last post, I shared that on May 7th, we found out that we were pregnant. I also shared a cute coffee mug that I had been hiding in the closet for the last 2 years. I was going to use the coffee mug as my way of telling Scott that I was pregnant, ha! That didn’t happen! That idea went right out the window when I saw that positive cheapie pregnancy test. My reaction pretty much gave it away.

Ok, back to the story…

I woke up that morning, took my temperature and saw that my post ovulation temperatures had stayed elevated. This was very much out of the ordinary for me. I knew that we were going on the boat later that day, and drinks would be had, so I took a cheapie pregnancy test just to be sure.

I forgot to look at the test in the allotted 5 minutes, so when I saw that faint positive line, I thought surely, that’s not the real deal. But I couldn’t help myself from getting excited and freaking out. With shock in my voice I gasped, “OMG!!!”

Scott heard me from the bedroom and shot out of bed asking “what, what is it?” He was deep in sleep when he heard the shock, fear and excitement in my voice. So when I went into the room, tears in my eyes, said something along the lines of “I think I might possibly, maybe, I don’t know… be pregnant….”

It took him a minute to process what I had just said and his response was, “oh…” So I started to explain my temperatures and the faint positive on the cheapie stick but how I didn’t look at it in the 5 minutes so I was very doubtful and didn’t actually believe it was a real positive.

Needless to say, we were both very hesitant to get excited.

Later that morning, Scott eventually got up and we went about our normal schedule, had coffee, watched the news, prepared the boat for a day on the lake. Once I had the urge to go to the bathroom again, I was sure to take another test. I took a first response test and there was no denying it was positive!! The line popped up immediately and was much darker than the cheapie. I couldn’t believe it!!!


I went downstairs to join Scott and had the BIGGEST smile on my face. Just from my expression alone, he knew that I had taken another test and that it was for sure positive.

…And that’s just the beginning of our pregnancy adventure!

2 thoughts on “The day I found out I was pregnant and how I told Scott

Thanks for your reply

