Callen Wayne Houston

Last Friday we welcomed my brother and sister in law’s baby boy, Callen. After being notified by my brother at 3:30 am that they were in the hospital, all I could think about for the rest of the day was that baby being born! I guess you could say I was little distracted at work. After work I went straight to the hospital to await his arrival. He ended up making his grand entrance at 6:45 pm Friday night. Both my mom and dad were there with their significant others, along with my sister in law’s parents and both sides aunts and uncles. We were a lively bunch in the waiting room!  Every time we’d hear the door open from the delivery area we’d perk up and look for my brother. At 7:25 pm, we finally saw the door open up and my brother walked out with a smile from ear to ear. He was one proud dad!

The grandparents went back first, then the aunts(me!!) and uncles, then the great aunts and uncles. We were supposed to take turns but when it was all said and done, we had somehow all made our way to the delivery room together. Oh there were tears, lots of them. Callen was the most precious thing. Seeing the parents beaming with pride was icing on the cake.

The next day we were able to visit them in their new postpartum room and brought them lunch from Taco Deli. After eating cafeteria food, they scarfed down their lunch and were very gracious of our delivery. Meanwhile, I got tons of cuddles from Callen. There is nothing sweeter than holding your nephew for the first time. He is precious!

One thought on “Callen Wayne Houston

  1. Congrats Auntie Brooke! “Aunt of the year” for bringing the new parents some Taco Deli. Have fun with your cute little nephew.

Thanks for your reply

