Swim lessons

Just over a year ago, I wrote a list of “resolutions” that I’d like to accomplish in the year 2015. Looking back at that post, I realized that I’m not the best at keeping resolutions. #oops

One resolution I listed was to take swim lessons. Every time I tried to sign up for a class last year, they were always waitlist only. This year, I happened to check YMCA’s website and to my surprise, there was an opening at the location I wanted to go to. It was meant to be!

Some back story as to why I wanted to take swim lessons in the first place…

I grew up at the lake and I’ve been around the water all of my life.
IMG_1394
Learning how to swim for me was more of a sink or swim scenario, literally. I would be thrown into the lake and somehow managed to stay afloat. I remember my friends joining the swim team or taking swim lessons when we were younger and here I was doggy paddling(still do).
IMG_1395
It wasn’t until Scott and I were taking our scuba certification course before our honeymoon that Scott realized I wasn’t a strong swimmer. I guess I hadn’t really thought about it either.

During scuba certification, you have to swim 20 laps, 20 small laps, but still, for a bad swimmer, that was A LOT! I was really struggling. Not to mention the horrible experience I had during our open water portion of the course.

The short story: We were decked out in thick wetsuits, in 58 degree water, in a quarry lake with about 5 foot of visibility. We went down about 30 feet where there is a metal grate you kneel on while you’re doing all your tests. You have to take your goggles off, put them back on, clear out the water from your goggles, remove your regulator and put it back in, etc… All while under the water 30 feet. While doing the regulator test, I went to put it back in my mouth and did not seal my mouth around it completely, resulting in water spilling into my mouth. In a panic, I rushed to the surface of the water with the instructor feeding me bubbles from his regulator on the way up…

Needless to say, I did not get certified :( That experience left me traumatized! I’d say it took me a good 2 years to really get over that.

That experience, along with never getting proper training in swimming, really pushed me to look into adult swim lessons, as embarrassing as that sounds.
FullSizeRender
The class I took at YMCA was beginner 2. The description states: Work on stroke technique. Focus is on the basics of freestyle and breaststroke. Swimmers will continue to work on endurance, confidence, and treading water. Ideal for those that are not afraid of the water but have never had any formal training…. Bingo! That’s me!

I’m definitely feeling more confident in my swimming and can comfortably swim freestyle, while taking in breath at the same time. I could use more practice, but I’m so happy I have tips and tricks to fall back on. Now with swim lessons under my belt, I’m ready to take on another goal I’ve had in the back of my mind for quite some time… a Sprint Tri! I’ll keep you posted on that one!

And P.S. I did get to go Scuba diving in Mexico 1.5 years ago and it was AMAZING!!! I definitely wish I would have gotten certified the first time, but if I do ever go through the course again, I will be doing my open water potion in the Caribbean with warm, crystal blue water. :)
scuba diving

3 thoughts on “Swim lessons

  1. Ahh! I can totally relate – I am not a strong swimmer and I had the same freak-out during my scuba certification, though it was when we were practicing in the pool. I haven’t been scuba diving since my last certification test last summer, and I get a little panicky about it. I think swimming lessons could really help me too! Thanks for the tip about the YMCA. Can’t wait to hear about your Sprint Tri! Been thinking about something like that!

Thanks for your reply

