Telluride ski trip: part 2

We got in around 8pm on Friday night and didn’t make it home until after 9. It was about 6 hrs of travel time, but I’ll take 6 hrs flying over our typical 12 hr drive which we usually do when we go skiing. I sure was ready to be home with our pups! It has actually been really nice playing catch up this weekend and getting prepared for the upcoming week.

In my last update, I left off on Tuesday. We said our goodbyes to Thane and Amy, and decided to take a rest day. I traveled into town with my mother and sister-in-law, while Scott chilled out and got some work done at the condo. Not a super eventful day, which was what my body needed! We ended up staying up way later than we have the whole trip, waiting for our friends Roy and Lauren and their family to get into town. It kind of worked out perfectly. With Thane and Amy gone, Renee and her family leaving Wednesday, as well as the Hamiltons, Roy/Lauren+family would be filling quite the void! R+L live in Denver, so it was about a 6 hr drive for them. But they made it! It was so fun getting to see them again, as well as their two children! I first met R+L in Denver just over 3 years ago, right before Scott and I got engaged. Lauren was pregnant at the time with their first, which was so neat to see them now three years later with two little ones!

Wednesday:ย Scott, Roy and I set out for what turned out to be a full day of skiing! We got to recapping all the runs we did and counted about 11 of them! We got back around 3, showered and ate an early dinner. We finished the night watching Bernie, they had never seen it.
IMG_6494
SKi map
1Village Bypass//2Misty Maiden//3Peek-a-boo//4Sundance//5Galloping Goose//6Double Cabin//7Polar Queen//8Dew drop//9Boomerang//10Madison//11Cake walk

My favorite part was trying out the Polar Queen/Dew drop area. It was less populated, really diverse and had the best snow! Wednesday was by far my favorite day skiing, although my skis were lacking the wax that I started with, so it was getting rather sticky.

Thursday:ย Since I had a strong finish on Wednesday, I decided to give my last prepaid pass to Roy so him and Scott could ski together. I had my fair share of skiing and was totally ok with handing over my lift ticket! That morning I did a little bit of exploring and took some pictures, read and finished my book “The Paris Wife” as well as did an at home workout. If you’re not following pbfingers workout pinterest page, go there and follow! So many workouts in one place and you’re bound to find one that fits your needs. I ended up doing thisย body weight exercise. Working out in altitude is a lot harder than you might think! I ran 5 sets of stairs as a warm up and that left me pretty much breathless! I wasn’t sure what to expect with the workout, but it turned out to be pretty well rounded and left me sore and sweaty! Also, I used this online stopwatch on loop countdown and it was so helpful!
Bodyweight-Workout
After my workout, I took a shower followed by a nap! The best! Once the guys eventually made their way home, we got dressed and headed out to grab dinner in Telluride. We technically stayed in Mountain Village, where most of the skiing is, but they have made it extremely convenient for traveling back and forth between the two towns with the use of gondolas! Telluride ended up being only 2 gondola rides away, which made things very easy for us.
DSC_0018
DSC_0019
DSC_0022
We may or may not have gone back to the same pizza place for dinner that we went to on Monday night :) haha yeah, it was that good! Before long, we were back in the condo, cozied up. We watched Get Low on Netflix, which was categorized under comedy, but it is definitely not a comedy. A good movie, but not a comedy. Just fyi if you’re thinking about watching it.

And just like that, Friday morning we were checking out of the condo and hopping into a van to be shuttled over to Montrose for our flight home. A perfect ski vacation with views that won’t soon be forgotten!

2 thoughts on “Telluride ski trip: part 2

Thanks for your reply

