Anniversary weekend

This year our Anniversary happened to fall on Easter weekend. Holidays are usually pretty hectic for us, but this year most of the family did their own thing and we didn’t feel pressured to do one thing or another. We were able to relax and celebrate us, which is what your anniversary should be about!

We started our celebration on Saturday with shopping around second street and drinks on the patio at cedar door. It turned out to be a gorgeous day!
Cedar Door
Around 2 o’clock we met up with some friends for lunch a Gus’s Fried Chicken… It was my first time trying it, and I now see why it’s “world famous” It was REALLY tasty!
gus's
We stopped for another drink then we were off to check into our “hotel” for the night.

I put hotel in quotes because this was not your typical hotel. We stayed at Kimber Modern, a group of rooms, just off South Congress. I booked our room a few months ago, and both Scott and I were so impressed when we arrived. When I booked the room, I requested a 4 digit code, and it was then programmed to our room. No checking in, no waiting. We literally walked up stairs, over to our room and unlocked the door. Here’s my attempt at capturing our room and all it’s glory.
Kimber modern
Super sleek and modern! These pictures were actually taken the morning after, but you get the gist.

We ended up taking a nap before heading to dinner at Perla’s Seafood and Oyster Bar.

I snapped this selfie before heading out. Lots of people asked where I got this dress so I’ll mention it here… The rage online boutique. They’ve been getting me in trouble!
dinner selfie
We walked across the street for dinner and just plain enjoyed ourselves. Perla’s was adorable! All the wait staff looked like they walked out of a j.crew magazine. Bright colored pants, pastel polos… It made me feel like I was on the east coast for the night. Not to mention their seafood was TO DIE FOR! I ordered pan roasted jack fish with a side of the best mac and cheese I’ve ever had! Scott ordered the rainbow trout,  which came with andouille gumbo,  shrimp, and scallion rice. He LOVED it.
fish dinner

After dinner we were stuffed! We walked up and down South Congress and of course stopped at the candy store on our way back to our room. A trip to South Congress just isn’t complete without a candy store stop!

We ended the night by watching our wedding video…talk about emotional! Not only was it our first time watching it, but it was like I was seeing Scott at the alter for the first time all over again. I was a mess… running mascara, ugly crying. It was time for bed after all of that!

We slept in until 8 which is a huge victory for us. Scott went over to the “common room” and picked up some coffee for us before our run on town lake. I snapped some pictures of the common area and little court yard. It was so peaceful!
Common room kimber modern
After we got our caffeine fix, we were off for our run. Our faces are so sleepy still.
morning run
The run is just what we needed. We’re big into trying new restaurants (and eating) for celebrations.  So we didn’t feel as guilty that we got a run in before gorging ourselves at Green Pastures’s Sunday brunch.
Green Pastures Brunch
I made reservations at Green Pastures for our actual Anniversary. Being at the same place one year from our wedding night gave me an overwhelming feeling of joy… When we were sat, I was feeling so emotional! I kept having to tell myself to dry it up Brooke! Oh and our waiter happened to be the same bartender that worked our wedding night. It was the prefect way to start our Anniversary day.

On our way home we stopped by my mee maws house to see some of the family for Easter.
bands
We spent the rest of the day by taking a cat nap, seeing a movie and of course trying our wedding cake topper.
cake
inside cake
Sooo it wasn’t horrible, but it definitely wasn’t good! We had one slice and threw the rest away. I really loved adopting this tradition and think it’s really fun for the couples to somewhat relive that moment all over again… Even if the cake is super dry.

..And that concludes our Anniversary celebration! It was the perfect staycation and we had a blast celebrating in the city we were married in!

*Super long post, but it was really fun to write and recap!

5 thoughts on “Anniversary weekend

Thanks for your reply

