Reception pt. 2

This post will be recapping the second half of the reception, which are all events in bold. Check out pt. 1 here.

  • Brooke and Scott enter
  • Buffet dinner
  • Cake cutting, best man/maid of honor/father of the bride toasts
  • Bride/groom first dance, father/daughter dance, and mother/son dance.
  • DJ continues to play fun reception music and Brooke can’t leave dance floor.
  • Bouquet/garter toss
  • Last dance
  • Brooke and Scott exit

Scott and I started off the dancing part of the reception with our first dance. We danced to “I won’t give up” by Jason Mraz. You’ll have to excuse all the pictures, I just am in love with so many of them and had to post them!
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Let me also say that Scott and I did not take dancing lessons! We used the week prior to the wedding to hook up our laptop to the TV and put up YouTube videos that taught us how to dance. It was a hoot. I remember feeling so silly during our first dance, dancing in the middle of the room, using our YouTube learned dance moves. I feel like we pulled it off pretty well though.
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Pure JOY!
Brooke Hamilton Blog
The photographer did such an amazing job capturing the special moments of our first dance.

Next, I got to share the dance floor with both my dad and step dad, Bob.

My dad and I danced to the first verse of Johnny Cash’s “You are my sunshine“, while me and my step dad danced to the second verse. The most PERFECT song for us. It was beautiful. Not a dry eye in the place.
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton BlogBrooke Hamilton Blog
Scott and his mom danced to a shortened version of “you got a friend” by James Taylor.
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Once we got all of the first dances out of the way, the DJ opened up the dance floor for everyone! It was packed from the point forward. I don’t think I left the dance floor longer than 5 minutes at a time. I was having a great time!… I do feel bad about not visiting individually with every single guest, but I’m thinking I ran into everyone at least ONCE on the dance floor.

Some of my favorite dancing pictures

BrookeScottWedding-464
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
We kept the tradition of the bouquet and garter toss, which made for some pretty funny pictures.
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Love my friend Kassia’s face.
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Turns out, the two people that caught the bouquet and garter were each others dates!

We spent the rest of the time dancing the night away. The DJ played a mix of songs, mostly pop dance songs, but some classic rock and wedding staples.
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Before I knew it, they were playing the last song and it was time for our get away…

We gave out bubbles and handed out our favors which were little packages of flower seeds. I don’t think I made it clear to folks that they were the favors, because we got sprinkled with flowers seeds and bubbles during our get away.
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
Brooke Hamilton Blog
And that was that! Our wedding was over.

Although I’ve recapped our whole wedding through a number of posts, there is no way I can fully contain all the emotions and magic that happened that day. I’m truly blessed to have Scott as my husband, two families that love us more than anything, and friends that will always be there for us. April 20th, 2013 is a day that will be etched in my memory forever!

(all photo credit to Doberenz photography)

Thanks for your reply

