Ceremony

Ah the ceremony…where the magic happens. This was my favorite part of the whole wedding. The food was delicious and the dancing was fun, but there’s no competition when it comes to saying your vows and becoming husband and wife. After all, that’s why you’re having a wedding in the first place, right!
BrookeScottWedding-258 Our ceremony was so us. It was simple, it was light, it was silly, it was short and it was sweet. Perfectly imperfect, and I wouldn’t have had it any other way.
BrookeScottWedding-222
Guests arrived between 5:30-6. The ceremony started promptly at 6. Our groomsmen doubled as ushers to walk my two grandmothers and mom down the aisle. They all walked down the aisle to “crazy love” by Michael Buble.
BrookeScottWedding-225 BrookeScottWedding-228 BrookeScottWedding-226 BrookeScottWedding-227
Once they were all seated, the processional began. Our officiant, Thane, lead the way, followed by Scott and his groomsmen.
BrookeScottWedding-230
My bridesmaids all walked out one by one.  I picked the song “love me tender” by Norah Jones. What a wonderful and fitting song for the processional. I had the DJ fade out the song once everyone made it to the alter.
BrookeScottWedding-234 BrookeScottWedding-235 BrookeScottWedding-236
It was finally my turn to walk down the aisle. Like I said in my previous post, I was strangely calm and at ease. I was sitting in the bridal suite, waiting for my queue to head down the stairs to meet my dad and step dad. I just kept thinking to myself I wonder how everything is going down there, and hoping that the DJ queued the songs at the right time, and how I hoped it was flowing smoothly. I remembering thinking wow, it’s really happening. I’m going to marry Scott in a matter of minutes in front of all of our closest friends and family! I was so antsy to go join everyone!

I met my dad and step dad at the double french doors where we latched arms and headed out. They were both blown away… I just remember my dad barely squeaking out the words, “Girl, you look so beautiful,” with a lump in his throat. (queue teary eyes). Bob was speechless. I walked down the aisle to “Angel” by Jack Johnson.
BrookeScottWedding-237
The moment I walked out of the doors, I could not smiling! Once I met Scott’s eyes, they were locked to his, along with my overly anxious smile.
BrookeScottWedding-245
BrookeScottWedding-239
BrookeScottWedding-241
BrookeScottWedding-244
BrookeScottWedding-246
We all made it to the alter seamlessly. We didn’t have a formal “who gives the bride away” thing, we all just hugged and my dads took their seats. I have to post these series of picture because they’re just too good not to…

Veil attack #1.
BrookeScottWedding-248
And it’s off…. (yes, that’s me cracking up…)
BrookeScottWedding-249
And it’s back on…
BrookeScottWedding-251
Thane welcomes our guests, and begins the ceremony.
BrookeScottWedding-253
BrookeScottWedding-254
Veil attack #2. This picture is actually a really gorgeous graceful picture… and that was the last of my veil. Bailey ended up grabbing it and wrapping it up around her wrist for the rest of the ceremony.
BrookeScottWedding-257
My veil apparently had other objectives that day that didn’t include staying on my head. I could have been completely bummed about it, but my reaction to it was basically like it never happened. I thought it was hilarious.

Thane did an incredible job with officiating our wedding. He scripted the ceremony with so much love and truth. He spoke humorously, loud and clear. It was perfect. He and his wife Amy are dear friends of ours and we are incredibly grateful for them.

We wanted to include Renee and Laura, Scott’s sisters, into the wedding ceremony, so we had them both read poems that we picked out. Renee read “Union” by Robert Fulghum and Laura read a shortened version of “The Art Of A Good Marriage” by Wilferd Arlan Peterson. It was a special touch to the ceremony to hear them read these sweet poems to us.
BrookeScottWedding-266
Before we knew it, we were exchanging vows to each other and exchanging rings.

I did want to include our vows, because I found it extremely helpful to read other peoples vows when we were trying to script ours.
BrookeScottWedding-269
BrookeScottWedding-271
BrookeScottWedding-267
I,(Scott), take you, (Brooke), to be my wife, to have and to hold from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish, till death us do part, according to God’s holy law, and this is my solemn vow.“… and vise versa. Pretty traditional right?

The ring exchange
BrookeScottWedding-276
BrookeScottWedding-280
BrookeScottWedding-279
(Brooke/Scott), I give you this ring as a symbol of my love and faithfulness to you.
Through these vows before God, family and friends you’ve become one. I now pronounce you husband and wife. You may kiss your bride!!!
BrookeScottWedding-281
Ladies and Gentleman it is with much joy that I introduce the new Scooter & Skipper Hamilton!
BrookeScottWedding-286
After we were announced, our DJ started playing “Is this love” by Bob Marley for our recessional.
BrookeScottWedding-287
BrookeScottWedding-290
BrookeScottWedding-291

I was so happy!

To be continued…

(All photos courtesy of Allen Doberenz)

2 thoughts on “Ceremony

Thanks for your reply

